Event PR at Changi Airport – Elvis Impersonation Contest

In commemoration of the 30th anniversary of Elvis Presley‘s death–and to inject some excitement–Changi Airport held an Elvis impersonation contest event, and I witnessed the finals while flying in and out of the airport on a weekend jaunt to Bangkok.

Other than flying in Elvis impersonator Johnny Baron from the U.S. and the prizes for contestants, the event probably didn’t cost much (after all, United Airlines, Philips, and Hard Rock Cafe were sponsors), but I think it sure generated lots of goodwill and positive impressions all around.

Johnny Baron as the event opener generated a fairly large crowd, which grew as he belted out a string of Elvis’ hits with gusto as well as numbers from his contemporaries such as Neil Diamond. Tourists and business travelers alike gathered round, some took off their shoes and sat on the floor, cheering and swaying to the music. While grabbing a bite at the cafeteria upstairs, I spotted a couple dancing in embrace to some of the ballads.

I’ve been fortunate enough to have traveled to many airports around the world, and I’ve to say that Changi, my home base, is the airport that is the most unremitting in its gambit to stay ahead of the game, constantly reinventing and improving itself using a whole host of strategies and tactics. This tactical use of event PR, is a great example of how a little bit goes a long way.

Social media tactics are often a fantastic complement to event PR (I shared the Aveeno case study in an earlier post). Now if only Changi used inject some social media marketing elements to gain extra mileage out of this event!

2 Responses to “Event PR at Changi Airport – Elvis Impersonation Contest”


  1. 1 walter August 28, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    You got tomorrow-ed dude! Congrats.

    It is interesting that you highlighted the social media bit. My own guess is that the perception of Elvis fans are probably folks who are err… “mature”? Perhaps, I should introduce them to the Friends of yesterday.sg…

  2. 2 David August 28, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    Hi Walter, yeah I didn’t even know about my travel blog being headline news on Tomorrow.sg until I saw an unusual spike in my traffic and decided to investigate. But it was an interesting learning experience because if say, Changi had decided to incorporate a social media component to its marketing, it could probably reach out to more stakeholders beyond those who were at th transit hall at that time. Of course, they might just say, why would we need to do that when we have evangelists like you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

DSC07473

DSC07471

DSC07430

DSC07428

DSC07426

DSC07424

DSC07421

More Photos

MyBlogLog

div class="mblrr_v">

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
Add to Technorati Favorites
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!

