Blog Dissonance…

I always enjoy reading Rohit Bhargava’s blog because he consistently delivers insightful, well-considered commentary.  I learn something new each time I visit his blog.

rohit2.jpg

Using the phenomenon where Scott Adams–the creator of Dilbert–as an illustration, Rohit discusses why it is possible for a brand (I loosely consider the Dilbert franchise a brand) to suffer a reduction in following because of its blog.  This happens when the audience sees a brand and its creator as one entity, but realizes through the creator’s blog (where one tends to express oneself more authentically) that his/her personal persona can speak with quite a different voice from the brand, hence the dissonance.

As Rohit explains, Adams sometimes blogs on his views on politics and social issues, which some of the readers (many of whom are drawn to his blog because they expect to hear the more of Dilbert) do not understand or agree with.  And when some of his audience see that the voice of Dilbert is not always consonant with the voice of Scott Adams, they swear never to return.

There are some useful lessons for marketers here.  Please read Rohit’s full commentary for more insights.  I believe it will be worth your while.

0 Responses to “Blog Dissonance…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

DSC07473

DSC07471

DSC07430

DSC07428

DSC07426

DSC07424

DSC07421

More Photos

MyBlogLog

div class="mblrr_v">

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile
Add to Technorati Favorites
Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!

